Canon price variance

Barney 4k

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm currently looking at buying my first professional level camera. One of the models I was suggested was the Canon 5D mk IV, but I discounted it because the £2800 price was a bit too high (price on the Canon website and a local major retailer).

I've since seen it advertised as low as £1600 on other sites!

So, what am I missing? They seem like reliable sellers (eg positive reviews), and reviewers claim to have received what they ordered - but I'm still apprehensive. Is there any common wisdom about this? Do the major retailers over-price, or is everyone except the major retailers selling grey market gear?

On the one hand I want to buy a quality product, but on the other I am just starting out so don't want to be ripped off!

I'd appreciate any insight!

Thanks

Barney

The manufacturer's suggested retail price is where everybody starts. Then retailers will lower the price to help generate sales. Almost nobody pays full price.

Oh, and welcome!

Another possibility is which of Canon's international divisions the camera was made-for or originally sold-to, versus how that camera has moved from Canon-affiliated seller to potentially non-affiliated sellers.

For example, my 77D is not a North American camera. I knew this going in, and I got it body-only for $599 when they were going for around $300 more. My camera most likely was sold through Canon Europe, presumably through an Eastern European country, then grey-market imported into the US. I was willing to do this because first, as a non-professional I'm not going to approach the service-life of the shutter or mirror, and second, the Canon USA warranty is only one year anyway, which I'm already past. Plus since I don't make any money with it, it's not really a big deal if I do break it.