CC please

Jhazard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im pretty new to photography and have been reading a ton of articles since these photos were taken so i can already look at them and see a ton of things that can be approved on, but still looking for some constructive criticism.

I am so looking to build a portfolio or online album and find more clients to "practice" on and gain experience. i was discussing with my husband offering free shoots to people so that i can gain experience but he told me he doesnt think anyone will take me serious unless i am charging a small amount. like maybe $50 for an hour session? what do you think of charging as a beginner and how much?

My computer won't let me upload so I'm uploading from phone...

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1441296670770.jpg
    FB_IMG_1441296670770.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 108
These look pretty good to start.
Why don't you tell us what you think could be changed for the better in each one and that way we know what you know?
And what editing software have you used?

Money changing hands does make people feel differently toward their photographer, yes. As far as C&C, I'd like to comment on shots 6 and 7, which were framed as horizontal images, and both have awkward "chops" on the hands or arms; neither of those shots works at all as a horizontal. There's absolutely no reason to frame either of those as horizontal images. VIsually, they are very awkward, and show a lack of study regarding posing and composing.

The maternity shot has the couple off-balance, with a tree taking a prominent role in the shot. Placing people off to one side creates terrific imbalance, and it is very distracting. You had the steel pipe fence leading "to them", but did not use it to actually lead the eye "to" them...had you stepped over to your right two steps, you could have made the fence lead "to" them...but then what would have happened to that tree?