Challenge - How would you build my studio?

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by misol, Jun 27, 2012.

1. misol

misol TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am primarily an outdoor/natural light photographer (child/family). I love natural light...but being in Texas, there are several months through the year I don't work much because of the heat or rain. I am slowly building my business and am ready (and have the client base) to create an in-home studio. I would like it to look more natural light then standard "studio" lighting.

The room is 11'7" wide, 14'8" long with (I believe) 10 foot ceilings (might be 12). It opens to the foyer, but not too much light comes in. Unfortunately it only has a 4'x6' south facing and heavily eved widow (but shutters that can block out the light). I have used that window to shoot sisters with albinism, and it was beautiful, but too "artsy" then would work for the average client.

I like to use paper rolls (the long 107") and would rather put up a few rolls and use them then switch them out on stands (stands take up so much space and can be difficult working with curious kids)...but I haven't seen a system that provides that. I guess I would prefer to leave them up so I am not packing and unpacking (I have active kids of my own and plan to multipurpose the room with easily removable furniture.

And...lets see...I have a "portable studio" with alien bees, large soft box, etc. But I am ready to buy new equipment as need be.

So, how would you set this up? I have some ideas but am really open to learning this new aspect of photography and would love to hear the ideas from you all who are likely much more well trained in studio photography.

Thanks so much. Y'all can even go "no cost is too much" (although we cant change the room...and cost is an issue. I would just love to see what people think.

2. lonewolfsx

lonewolfsx TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit