Cheap macro lens for nikon ?

Wesche

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently got my D3100, and I use the lens it comes with, but I really like macro photography. So a nice lens would come in handy, but Im a noob at this, so what are some choices I have for cheap macro lens. From what I read, I belive a 90-105mm, but im no expert correct me if im wrong.

You shouldn't buy a lens because it's cheap because it will always disappoint you in the long run (IMHO). If you don't have a lot of cash to spare it might be a good idea to start pricing decent used lenses. As to what lens you should get, I'll let the Nikonians here give you some advice on that one.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I recently got my D3100, and I use the lens it comes with, but I really like macro photography. So a nice lens would come in handy, but Im a noob at this, so what are some choices I have for cheap macro lens. From what I read, I belive a 90-105mm, but im no expert correct me if im wrong.

If you want to start cheaply, buy some extension tube (read and look here). Depending on the kind of macro you like, even a reverse adapter ring might be good (for mounting your lens on the contrary). Beware of zooms declared as macro but that do not allow true macro (which by definition is at least 1:1 magnification).

You can reverse mount a Nikon 50mm f/1.8 and that becomes a great little macro.

I am not sure what cheap is here but the 60mm Nikkor-Micro 2.8 is very reasonable (about $400US/$300 used). It is a great lens that can be used as a walk around lens also.

sorry for butting in but I had the same questions on a cheap macro lens. I have the D3000 though and I have the kit lens and the 55-200. I was told for hummingbirds a 105 F2.8 will work well but at this time $400 plus(for sigma) or $900 plus for nikon is too much (just starting out and husband is not on board spending $400 plus).