Children's Portraiture Lighting

mjphotofan08

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've become interested in children's portraiture but I have some questions about lighting.

Indoors- I'm guessing you shouldn't use a flash because you don't want to blow out a baby's soft skin. Can you use a flash with an older child or adult? I did a baby photo shoot last weekend and she was too young to take outside. I don't have any sort of studio, I'm just starting out, so I went to their house. They didn't have any real natural lighting so I was limited to the lighting from their house. Here's the question... I don't want to raise the ISO too high because of noise, maybe above 800? But even if I had the apeture down low to 4.0 and the shutter speed up to 1/60 or 1/80 it was too dark. If I lowered the shutter speed to create more light I didn't capture the fast movements and smiles of the babies, so a lot of the pictures came out blurry. What do you do in this situation?

Outside- When do you use a fill flash and when do you use no flash?

General question about children's photography- I find that with apeture priority I can't get the shutter speed up high enough. With shutter speed priority I don't feel like I have enough control of the apeture, so I perfer all out manual. But how am I supposed to control all of this fast enough and make changes at new locations when I have babies, 2, 3, 4 etc year olds waiting on me?

Thanks, I'm new so hello to all!

Hi.

Wow! That's a LOT to address.

I'll begin. INDOORS: Yes, you can use flash. But to do anything nice, you won't want to use any on-camera flash. And you'll need more than one. You're right to want to keep your ISO at 100, so you will need some strobes.

I'll let someone else add to this.

Welcome!

-Pete