Choosing between two cameras + looking for Minolta part

tduebber

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey TPF. I'm a total film photography beginner. Looking for some advice.

I was lucky enough to recieve two functional(ish) SLRs from a relative - a Nikon Nikkormat EL and a Minolta Maxxum 7000. I'm not sure which one I should focus on, so any opinions are welcome.

Also, the battery housing on the Minolta needs to be replaced (part code BH-70T). Any ideas on where I could find one?

Thanks in advance

Dead donor cameras (rather than now-empty parts bins)are your best bets for bits for cameras that old like the Minolta. Had a Nikkormat EL and liked it before an unfixable jumpy meter needle put it in the trash. Frankly, if both have "issues" you might be ahead consigning them to doorstop/paperweight duty and looking for something newer.

The EL has an unusual battery location that I trust you'll sort out. I got mine cheap since the camera store staff couldn't find it...

Don’t know about the Nikon but I love my 7000, have 2 of them. Battery compartments can be found on eBay and the like. There are I think 3 different kinds. 1 for AAA and 1 for AA batteries. I have those and they interchange with the 5000. I’m not 100% sure but I think they made one that takes the 2cr5 battery. Lenses are plentiful and cheap. I have taken some great pictures with mine. Good luck.

I've acquired several film cameras over the past few years and unfortunately some I refer to as "museum pieces" as they don't work. I'll place them in a display cabinet.

Hey TPF. I'm a total film photography beginner. Looking for some advice.
I was lucky enough to receive two functional(ish) SLRs from a relative - a Nikon Nikkormat EL and a Minolta Maxxum 7000. I'm not sure which one I should focus on, so any opinions are welcome.
Also, the battery housing on the Minolta needs to be replaced (part code BH-70T). Any ideas on where I could find one? Thanks in advance