Cinestill DF96 weird grain issue.

darry85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I just got the new Cinestill DF96 monobath to try out and developed a test roll of tri x and everything came out good. I pushed the 400 speed film to 1600 using their instructions of 90 degrees at 6 minutes.

I scanned my negatives in and there's a weird grain pattern I've never seen on black and white images before. I'm not sure if it's my scanner or the monobath. I looked at other people's DF96 images and they didn't have this issue. I scanned the negs twice with the same result.

I hope you can see it. Is that normal? It doesn't look like normal grain, but little hash marks or something. I'm really new at this.

Thanks..

It looks like reticulation...not grain, but reticulation, which can be/is caused by temperature extremes. A good example is getting the film warm/hot in the post-development rinse cycle...this can make the emulsion very soft and pliable....then, when cool/cold water is introduced, BOOM, the warm,swelled emulsion shrinks/contracts, and makes the reticulation pattern. Reticulation can ALSO be caused, I have recently learned from TPF and @webestang64, from extreme temperature swings, such as when film is left in a car glove box, or in a car in temperature extremes, for a somewhat long time frame.

I second Derrel and think that is reticulation. Have I read your post right and you developed at 90°? Even with Fahrenheit that is hot. If that was followed by cold rinse water then reticulation is going g to be very likely. You need all your liquids, including rinse water, to be close in temperature.

Sent from my 8070 using Tapatalk