Compact camera with the best image quality for giclee prints/wide format prints?

LNeece

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all!

I am an artist and amateur-to-intermediate photographer. I am specifically looking to upgrade from my current point-and-shoot compact (Canon Powershot sx200is - 12MP, 12x zoom) because I've had difficulty photographing my mixed media paintings for web and print. I've been putting off buying a new camera, because I love the one I have - perfect all-around compact for what I've been using it for - but I just can't get enough definition and detail when I photograph my fine art paintings. I work primarily on wood, which is printed, dyed, and finished, so that the wood grain is part of the background. I've recently switched to a matte finish in an effort to eliminate the glare that has been a huge part of the problem in photographing them in the past, but the wood grain in the background is still ever-so-slightly blurred or soft-looking in all of my photographs. In the past, a professional photographer friend photographed a group of them for me with excellent high definition results. I've tried to mimic his techniques (photographing them outdoors in the shade) without much luck and also in different types of lighting, which leads me to think it's my camera.

With that said, I'm looking at purchasing a wide-format photo printer to use in making archival fine art prints and am thinking a 16MP would be a good upgrade to serve this purpose. If I intend to use my images to create up to 13x19 prints, am I correct in looking at cameras with a higher number of megapixels? From what I've read so far, it seems that some printers think 12 MP should be enough to create larger prints, but others suggest 15-21 MP for larger prints. I've mostly been looking at cameras in the $100-300 price range for budgeting purposes, but I want to make sure that the next camera is a real upgrade in image quality for printing.