Complete Beginner - but eager to learn!!

Planty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've recently brought the Canon 350D with 18-55mm & 70-300mm lens as a starter kit.

I am very eager to use the camera to its full potential and get in to it more professionally.

I continue to come up against the term: 'f/11..'. or 'f/8...' Probably a really obvious question but what does the 'f' stand for in these terms? and what function does it perform? ( Im one of these people who really likes to understand everything properly before feeling confident to progress!!)

I would be very grateful for any 'idiot guide answers' for complete beginners or any relevant books/sites i could visit which can explain all the main basics to someone like me.

Many Thanks.;)

Hey man, welcome to the site. First of all, as far as I know, the "f" doesnt actaully stand for anything...maybe "full" as in full stop, but I don;t really know. It doesnt matter though, just know that f stops refer to the aperature your lens is using. f/8 is a larger hole (and therefore more light gets in) then f/11.

I don't think I explained that very well, sorry.

There used to be a beginners FAQ section somewhere on the site which was a really good guide for begginers, but I don't know where its gone now that the site has been revamped. A moderator or someone may come along shortly and know where it went.

I was trying to find the beginners FAQ, but I couldn't. Maybe the Mods could find it and re-sticky it to the top of this forum.

Welcome to the forum.