Complete Beginner Questions - AF and Light Metering

SarasotaTim

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi folks...I pride myself on my research capabilities, you'd think I'd find the exact answer out there on basic questions such as this, but as I've found you guys to be so knowledgeable, probably easier this way lol

1. Autofocus - Using my Canon system, I have a 7 point AF....how do I use this when taking shots? The manual is not very exact about this........I know a few of them light up when I line up a shot, does the center point need to be over my subject, or....I'm confused.

2. In-Camera Light Metering - Again, manual isn't very precise about this.........I'm on Evaluative metering (I've looked up the difference in metering systems already), how do I meter for a scene? Am I meant to point the MIDDLE of my viewfinder at the subject to meter....or am I supposed to point the middle at the BRIGHTEST object in the scene, or? Confused on this too...

Thanks in advance for any help guys/gals :)

0. answer 1 is also inside your manual ;) .
1. by default the point selection is automatic (it is what you see when more than one point are on: on means that focus is there). This is good until you just shoot snapshots. If you aim to some more control, you may modify behaviour with a button (far right, top in mine), plus arrows. A good idea could be to activate just the central one, focus with half shutter button down, then recompose. When you feel is better not to recompose, choose one of the points closer to where you want to focus.
2. If you want to meter on a single point in the scene, you should use spot/partial metering (in the center most likely). If not, evaluation is more or less an average, eventually weighted more at the center. Evaluative metering attempts an exposure basing on how the overall scene is appearing in various areas. You may block exposure at a certain scene, for further recomposition, with the * button.