Convention Photography Pointers? please.

percent20

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
buddylindsey.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
To preface this all I am still new at photography. I halfway understand ISO, Fstop and shutters speed. It all makes "sense" but am still lacking on knowing what settings turn out what. Am using a film slr so no real immediate feedback.

I am going to a convention this weekend what are some tips you can offer for taking pictures to get good shots, or even start down the path. I don't expect to walk away with professional pictures at all. But would like to at least get a few decent ones.

Thanks

So you are well on your way to understanding the technical aspects of photography... but you've forgotten the other half..

That photography is an art form. Why are some photos special and others bland? That's a question you should be asking yourself.

Think in terms of creativity.

How do you place objects within a frame? Composition? Shapes? Color? Texture? etc...

Go out and experiment.. ask you why this worked and this didn't? Don't get yourself hung up on the technical aspects too much. You can be creative and expand artistically with a cheap digital P&S or a disposable camera.

Conquering the technical aspects comes before the art.
Before doing a job like this, you really should have a good understanding of exposure settings for your camera, flash, film, surroundings, etc. If you have a day or two before the job, do shoot in a setting as nearly like where the convention will be. Use the same film, try different apertures, ranges, flash settings, etc. Make notes on what you did. Then take to a quickly developer, like Wal-Mart and compare results with your notes. It is a learning curve. Your settings should be intuitive. IMHO, that should come well before taking a paying job.
Would you hire someone to do a job, of any kind, who is not prepared?