Crazy 5 1/2' large format camera I think found in attic - Need help identifying

premierpicker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I found this huge folding wood camera in an attic. There are no tags or plates on it. It measures 70 1/4" long at the rale. The frame or box area that holds the lens is 20" X 20" and the cut out or opening for the lens is 4" X 5". The frame of the glass plate measuring 20 1/4" X 16 1/4" and the glass measuring 14" X 17". The wood appears to mahogany and it is all dove tailed. There is no lense. Just the case, bellows and some attachments (plates, frames etc). I have sold many cameras ( I am not an expert by any means) but know enough to research most of them and can't find anything remotely close to this size. There a few Century Studio cameras but none that I could find are this large. I downloaded sevearl photos on photobucket if anyone wants to see them please email me. I am going to try to put the link and the photos on here if it will let me as I do not use these boards often. Any help appreciated. Trying to figure out if this is indeed large format possibly for wet plate ? or some other specific purpose. The link below is a safe public link to my photobucket site. june7210's Library | Photobucket

Wow, that is cool! Sorry that I can't help, but I'm definitely watching this thread to see how it turns out!

thanks i hope someone can help. i am clueless. can't find anything this large.

This is likely a process camera for photolithography and later offset plates, though you certainly could use it for portraiture.

You can get 20" lithographic films in sheets or rolls, usually ortho sensitive and would be easy to cut, and can be developed in dilute rodinal or D76. There is also a great film called Kodak Industrex which you can still find on ebay, which can be developed at 1:75 rodanol, and is an excellent medium speed, high density direct x-ray film.