D-90/bird photography/iso

tom beard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In my yard (open shade) I have an 18" dish containing bird seed on the ground. Every day at about 5:00pm a family of Mountain Quail with about ten small chicks come to feed. Some of them feed right out of the dish and others in about a 5 foot radius. I need a fast shutter speed (150?) because they move fast, and a small aperture (f11 or higher?) to keep the 5' radius in sharp focus using a 18-105 kit zoom. I presume I should be shooting in Manual mode. Will the camera choose the ISO for me, or must I set it manually, and to what speed? Should I use High ISO Noise Reduction? Also, should I use matrix metering in AFc, or turn the auto focus off? I tried using flash, but it spooks the birds. I'm using a tripod and a wireless remote to trip the shutter from inside the house and can't make adjustments once the birds are there. I'm pretty new at this and usually shoot in Jpeg-Programmed Auto, so any suggestions on how to do this would really help.

Thanks, as always. Tom Beard

Last edited:
For what it's worth, coming from a relative newbie...

Shutter 1/150 or faster sounds good. Aim for 1/500 if you can get it.
Aperture will depend on distance to subject and focal length. Without that it's hard to say.

If the lighting is likely not to change (so no clouds blowing across the sky etc,) then manual would be the way to go. Take a few test shots so you know you're in the right area, and shoot RAW to give you the most scope for adjustments.

I wouldn't trust the camera to set the ISO here. Without control over the shutter or aperture it's my experience that it's never what I wanted.

Manual focus would be ok again, if you dial it in beforehand. Perhaps let the AF focus on the dish, then switch the lens to MF?

Can you light the area some other way? A couple of halogen flood lights, for example?