Decisions, Decisions

prbqp1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography...well, actually 3 years new (lol).
I bought a Nikon D3000 in 2010. I didn't know how limited it was until I started to have vision problems last year. Two surgeries, one for a detached retina and then later on...cataract removal. I still am experiencing problems in my right eye (my shooting eye) and my doctor wants to do another surgery to correct the vision. I am a eyeglass wearer and being able to see properly this year has been somewhat frustrating.
Because is this Nikon D3000 is their first baby DSLR, I've been having the most difficult time trying to focus through the viewfinder and leaving the lenses in auto-focus, I cannot tell if it is accurate or not. To top it all off, I had to send it into Nikon for repair because the memory card slot is not working properly.
Well, I just found out today, they want $170 to fix it. That's much more than it is currently worth, I think.
So I don't know whether I should buy an upgrade to a Nikon D3200/D90/D7000, switch to Canon product (because I understand they have auto focus within the body) or suck it up and pay for the darn to be fixed. :confused:
Does anyone out there have any suggestions?

Thanks!
PRB

grafxman

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I can't speak to Nikon cameras but Canon's typically have a manual adjustment for the view finder. I too wear glasses so when I recently bought a Canon 6D, I did the same thing I did years ago with my 50D and 7D. I just autofocus on something and if it's out of focus through the viewfinder I manually adjust the little wheel adjacent to the viewfinder until the image is sharp. With Canon cameras that's all there is to it. It takes only a few seconds.

SCraig

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
sc-photo-tn.com
Photos NOT OK to edit
Nikon is the same way. There is an adjustment right beside the viewfinder.