Developing Color Film

mateo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

I've had some experience developing B&W filim and have recently bought a lomographic camera with some 100 ISO color negative film. I've always been a "hands on" person and would like to try developing the negatives myself. I've seen a bunch of threads on how to develop B&W film, but I haven't been able to find anything that specifically lays out how to go about developing color film. What (kind/brand) chemicals? Amount of time per chemical? Any other tips or tricks from the masters like you guys.

I'm also considering purchasing an enlarger. Anybody know of any places I might be able to find used equip?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Matt

The process for developing color print film is called C-41. You'll need a C-41
kit to develop your film. One available brand is by Unicolor. Freestyle Photo
Supply (easy to find on the web) supplies these along with their own house
brand Arista C-41. Since you live in a large city you may be able to find
a C-41 kit locally through larger photo supply stores. It comes with
instructions and more info can be found by searching the net for C-41
processing info.

Used darkroom equipment can be found via Craigslist and other local
classifieds. It's usually quite cheap. In fact some people are throwing
away enlargers, etc. these days.

My only attemp to develop color film was in the early 1970's. I don't know about C-41 but the requirement for the process I was using demanded very tight temperature control (+/- 1 degree F if memory serves). Unless C-41 is much more forgiving than that I would stick to B&W for a while before attempting color.

Freestyle has an Arista brand C-41 kit with very flexible temperature
requirements. I believe it is 75-100* F or something like that.