Doing a wedding next week.

ddeerreekk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm assisting a film crew and doing some wedding shots next weekend and have a few questions. I have some experience with this kind of thing but I want to make sure I'm as prepared as possible.

I guess my main two questions are:

-What are the 'key' shots that I should get for the wedding? There's the obvious ones, but I'm sure there's a number of other types of shots that you folks (as photographers) have found to be favorites of the couple or essential to give them?

-Secondly is about etiquette. Is there any definite no-no's or anything that I should be aware of at the wedding? I don't mean in terms of the photo's I'm taking, but how to act/dress/communicate at the wedding. Is flash always alright to use?

.........how to act/dress/communicate at the wedding. Is flash always alright to use?
Professionalism is always a plus.

At a minimum a quality dark polo shirt, slacks, shined loafers. Best yet is a dark suit, white shirt and tie. Be as unobtrusive as possible.

Flash is usually not allowed during a wedding ceremony. It's best to check with the venue since an occassional venue will allow it.

If the ceremony will be in a church there is a good chance they will want to limit/restrict where you shoot from. Again, check with the venue where the ceremony will be held.

Many clergy and a lot of wedding venues have little love for newbie wedding photographers because they don't check with them anywhere near far enough in advance, if at all.

Got all the gear you need?

Flash is usually not allowed during a wedding ceremony. It's best to check with the venue since an occassional venue will allow it.

Something is bugging me, is this an American thing? I've been to about 12 weddings (10 in Australia and 2 in Europe) and there was never such a restriction.