Dslr for beginners

lover99

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Just wanna ask... I'm planning to buy a dslr.... And i'm new to this things ... So should i buy nikon d3100, d5000, or nikon d5100??? I'm just planning.... And i'm still savin becuse i'm still a kid and i just ask for an iPad 2 but now i have a savings of $250... So i' m planning to buy a dslr.... What would you recomend... Only of the three...?????

Is that an entry level??? By the way. If im going to buy. I only want nikon.

Canon 1Ds Mark III

Ignore him.

If im going to buy. I only want nikon.

Your budget is only $250? Well your going to struggle to find a DSLR for that, don't forget your going to need atleast 1 lens each.

A DSLR is going to cost you a lot more than $250.
The body itself is more expensive than that and you also need at least one lens to be able to start shooting.
If you seriously want a DSLR you're going to have to save up a lot more money because this can be an expensive hobby.

To be honest I think it might be a better idea for you to get a compact camera.
There are some really nice compact cameras and they cost a lot less. Of course the photo quality is probably less than with a DSLR with a good lens but at least they are more in your price range.
I've used a Panasonic DMC-FZ18 for at least 4 years before switching to a DSLR (mainly because of the same reason: no money) and I have been really pleased with it.
After all it's not just the camera that makes a photo, it's also the photographer. Using such a camera you can start practicing on your techniques and everything.

Once you get older and get a job which earns you more money and you still want to continue with photography you can start thinking of buying a DSLR.
It'll be a lot easier to buy your equipment then because you have a larger income and you'll already have practiced your photography techniques loads.
All this is why I'd strongly suggest you look at a good compact camera first before you really decide.