DSLR versus Mirrorless

vinodsood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am planning to buy a new camera. I am a hobbyist, has been using a compact point & shoot till now. Want to now upgrade. I am confused between DSLR and Mirror-less camera options. Would like some advice, pros and cons for both. Also any inputs on Sony mirror-less NEX series ?

I believe the main differences between the 2 systems are size and accessories support natively. If you do not like to carry bulky camera and lenses, mirrorless is the way to go. However, if you like to do more with the camera, DSLR system is great for that. i.e. You will find more lens selection for the camera.

You should compare specific models.... and specify budget if you want a valuable discussion.

DSLR and mirrorless are designs. DSLR users a mirrorbox to provide TTL viewing while mirrorless (as the name suggests) provides TTL viewing through other means without a mirrorbox. The most common mirrorless provides TTL viewing via electronic view finders that get input right off the sensor itself.

Mirrorless cameras encompasses a wide variety of brands/models each with their own set of advantages/disadvantages which is why specific models should be mentioned. To a certain extent, the same with DSLRs but most models don't vary from one to the other very much. Mirrorless also share a lot of components with DSLRs.. for example sensors and in some cases lenses (not much).

So my advice....

Don't shop around thinking DSLR or Mirrorless! Just shop around thinking CAMERA with interchangeable lens. Whatever camera you choose, should fit your needs and your needs only.... regardless of design. In the end, it doesn't matter if its a DSLR or mirrorless.... all that matters is that your are happy with your choice.