Either I don't Understand Exposure Compensation of my G10 is Broken?

SAPierce2006

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, completely newb photographer here. I'm still learning how Aperature, Shutter Speed, and ISO work together. Anyways, to kind of figure all this stuff out I bought a Canon G10 that I could carry around with me and see if this is something I want to get further into. I'm not an idiot when it comes to technology, but for some reason this isn't working and I'm not sure why.

The G10 has an Exposure Compensation dial. Neat little thing. Anyways, I set the camera to manual, and control the ISO, Aperature, and Shutter Speed, and while the camera has the orange light lit that indicates that I can set the exposure compensation, it chooses the exposure compensation by itself anyways, and I can't seem to control it at all unless the camera is on Av or Tv. Even then though, it doesn't seem like it's adjusting much.

I played around with it and found out that it doesn't change the RAW's, only the JPGs, but still nothing changes when I'm in Manual mode. Thoughts?

~Scott

when you're in manuel, your're controling everything. Therefore, exposure comp cannot work. When in av or tv modes, however, you only control apature and shutter speed respectivly. Therefore, exposure comp can be used in those modes, because there are settings that you can't change in that mode.

You dig?

Exposure compensation is normally used in an Automatic mode.
Changing the exposure compensation will bias the internal metering system to over or under expose ... from the automatically calculated exposure.

If you make minor adjustments ... like 1/3 stop over/under ... you might not notice a difference.
Put the camera in any automatic mode ... change the exposure comp to the max (over or under) ... then view the captured shot.