Enlarger question

Krazy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so here's the deal... I have been developing my own B&W negatives for a few months now. I found a person selling an enlarger (Simon omega D2), cause he recivied it from a friend and it is sitting in his basement collecting dust for the last year and a half. He says it still powers on, comes with three lenses and all the parts are there minus the bottom board you put the paper on( sorry for my lack of technical terms)The price is unbelievable, he is only asking $55.
I have been looking up the D2's online and noticed it is not a unit hard to find parts for(a good thing).

So my questions are:
1) is it worth getting it
2) what should I look at when I go see it
3) how hard is it to make a new plate, or just buy one4) what size pictures can you go up to on this unit (he says it comes with a f 4.5 63/8 in focus, f45 90 mm, and f4.5 50mm)

Any help would be great!

Last edited:
Ok so here's the deal... I have been developing my own B&W negatives for a few months now. I found a person selling an enlarger (Simon omega D2), cause he recivied it from a friend and it is sitting in his basement collecting dust for the last year and a half. He says it still powers on, comes with three lenses and all the parts are there minus the bottom board you put the paper on( sorry for my lack of technical terms)The price is unbelievable, he is only asking $55.
I have been looking up the D2's online and noticed it is not a unit hard to find parts for(a good thing).

So my questions are:
1) is it worth getting it
2) what should I look at when I go see it
3) how hard is it to make a new plate, or just buy one4) what size pictures can you go up to on this unit (he says it comes with a f 4.5 63/8 in focus, f45 90 mm, and f4.5 50mm)

Any help would be great!

This looks like a great deal.
The Simon Omega sounds familiar to me. I may have used one in school.