Expanding to off camera strobes

JerryPH

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I liked the effects I was getting with the SB-800 on camera, and then I started playing with it off camera bouncing and what not and that led me into learning more about it. I then wanted to go and purchase an extra SB-800 and a couple of umbrellas and stands to get into it a little more seriously.

I was discussing this with my dad when he said "well before you spend anything, why not try my setup?" Now I knew my dad was an avid photographer during my childhood growing up, but I recalled no such equipment. Thirty minutes later, we had two 110 volt strobes with modeling lights setup on light stands with umbrellas. The first hour was spent battling Nikon's CLS against the strobes but the solution was to finally go 100% manual... thats when the pics really started to come out quite nice.

An hour later, we were up to a 5 strobe setup and I was having a blast! At that level, its all about minute nuances and custom setting of each flash's power and location precisely based on the effect you want. The intricacies were facinating!

How come no one here told me how much fun studio setups could be?

By the end of the day and some 400 pics later, I was feeling very confident with this setup and getting consistantly good results. Funniest moment was when I went off on a tangent and started pulling an "Austin Powers" photoshoot on the bananas that were on the table... I had the family in stitches!

Ok, so it wasn't one of those serious moments of reflection to attempt photographic perfection, but I've added another aspect of photography to my repertiore, and having a grand time learning something completely new. :)

Picture of the Austin Powers banana shoot:

1916780029_77c3a60ece.jpg

Strobes are so much fun.

If you haven't yet...check out this site http://www.strobist.blogspot.com/
start with 'lighting 101'