Experimenting today, I noticed a few things relating to exposure, shutter speed, ISO

snapsnap1973

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi.

I was inside today under incandescent lights and was fooling around with my Sony Cybershot DSC-H20 (not the best camera, but I'll be getting a better one soon). I'm new to photography and really know very little.

Anyways, I noticed a few things while "fooling around".

1. I noticed that my lcd screen gets lighter and darker depending on what I set my shutter speed or f-stop to. Depending on my camera's zoom, I only can choose between two f-stops anyway. For example at full wide I can only choose either F8 or F3.5 I think.

2. I noticed that as I set the ISO number higher (3200 is max for my camera) that my screen gets lighter and I can select a higher shutter speed.

3. Why can't I set a shutter speed like "2000" indoors without getting a black screen?

4. Is the screen getting lighter or darker a "direct" result of the sensor or is it merely a "graphical" representation of what the picture would look like if I were to shoot as those particular settings?

As an example I did:

I set ISO to 400 indoors under incandescent lighting.
I selected F3.5 fstop
I had to put shutter speed at "20" to get 0EV.

I've got a couple questions:

1. What would be the advantage of selecting "F8" instead of F3.5 in the above case?

2. I'm assuming that "20" means 1/20th of a second. If I were to want to film "fast action" and wanted to say set my camera to "2000" shutter speed, would I consequently have to bring up the ISO to get enough light indoors?

You need to learn the basics of exposure and how aperture, shutter speed, and ISO relate to each other. All your questions will then be answered. Try These Tutorials.