Exporting Photos Out of Lightroom

lfoush

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a couple photos in Lightroom I was going to email to my friend to edit. I didn't know what the best export settings would be so that she receives good quality photo. What should the resolution be? I emailed myself the photo with both a 200 and 300 pixel count and they both were not the greatest quality. Is it necessary to sharpen for screen? If someone could explain what settings to use in this particular situation, it would be much appreciated. I'm new with Lightroom and figuring out what settings to use for particular situations has been somewhat of a challenge.

Thanks!;)

Last edited:
I'm curious to hear people's response to this too, as I also find it hard to choose. If I'm looking for a smaller jpeg, what I usually do is size it smaller based on megapixels. In one of the export dialogs you can specify that. I'll usually use something like 3-5 megapixels as output, and it comes out looking just as good, just smaller.

I have a couple photos in Lightroom I was going to email to my friend to edit. I didn't know what the best export settings would be so that she receives good quality photo. What should the resolution be? I emailed myself the photo with both a 200 and 300 pixel count and they both were not the greatest quality. Is it necessary to sharpen for screen? If someone could explain what settings to use in this particular situation, it would be much appreciated. I'm new with Lightroom and figuring out what settings to use for particular situations has been somewhat of a challenge.

Thanks!;)

If you want to send them to your friend to edit, why don't you send her the original? Google drive allows you to upload photos to a cloud storage space and share the folder with anyone.

Personally, I wouldn't want to work with a small (sub 2000px on the long edge) file to edit.

When you export just put like 5000kb for file size. Don't change any other boxes.