TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.petecrawford.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

My daughter has a huge interest in makeup and one of the things she loves to do is creative eye makeup that she posts up to instagram. One of the things we are going to do is try and get a few better shots of her makeup artistry to really make her work shine. This is really outside my skill set and though I do have a basic studio setup I don't know much about lighting let alone the lighting for fashion photography.

Can anyone advise a good standard setup for this type of shot: 6 Colorful Eye Makeup Looks - L'Oréal Paris

or this 25 Gorgeous Eye Makeup Tutorials For Beginners of 2019

as that's what we'll be aiming for. Any general tips would be grand too and do you think it would be possible to do it with constant lighting rather than a strobe?

I think the Professionals will recommend flash, but for me, as a total amateur, I find constant LED lighting much easier to work with.

You can see the shadows and highlights real time, especially if using mirrorless, and you can fine-tune the reflections in your models eyes by moving the lights and watching the effect.

I've used a cheap LED ringlight with adjustable color temp and brightness, and shone this through a white umbrella.

This gives a nice soft light and also round reflections in her eyes.

These examples were not taken to show eye make up, and I know the lighting is far from perfect, but I think they show that a single LED light plus a modifier can do what you need?

Also, one issue with LED is they lack the power of a flash, but you'll be working close so this will not be an issue. You can also darken the room, turn down the power and watch her pupils to get the look you want.

LRM_EXPORT_617045286052272_20190905_175758807.jpeg

LRM_EXPORT_617116958009605_20190905_175910480.jpeg