Family Photos -- First time ... need feedback!

echoyjeff222

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone -- I was called upon by my family to take some of our family pictures this year. This is my first time EVER doing any sort of family photography OR serious portrait photography, for that matter. I got through the looong, exhausting day - so mentally tiring! I'm on to the post processing, and was wondering if I was going in the right direction with these photos. I'm really new to all this post processing for portraits.

Any feedback for the composition/lighting and such would be nice as well -- I'll post one photo up for now! Thanks! Is the background too busy? I kept insisting on finding a simpler background, but they picked this indoor setting just because of the christmas tree, apparently :/

Also, does anyone know how to get rid of the annoying glare in the glasses?

Thanks!

JanetFamily by echoyjeff222, on Flickr

Last edited:
The background is okay; it would be stronger were it more softly focused and, but it isn't bad as-is. I would close out the sign or whatever is in the upper-left-hand corner. A few things that bother me however: Excessive specular highlights (possibly blown) on the cheeks/forehead of the lady front left and the reflection of the glasses of the girl in the white t-shirt. The highlight issue indicates lack of diffusion on your strobe, and the reflection that the strobe should have been slightly higher.