Feedback Needed - Please?

mkaguiar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all. If you wouldn't mind I would appreciate some constructive criticism on this shot. I'm a novice with an extreme desire to learn how to take great shots if only to make my husband's gift not go to waste. :wink: So any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks! Does the tire "ruin" the pic?

1291086011_c86457e677.jpg

Hi all. If you wouldn't mind I would appreciate some constructive criticism on this shot. I'm a novice with an extreme desire to learn how to take great shots if only to make my husband's gift not go to waste. :wink: So any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks! Does the tire "ruin" the pic?

I wouldnt say it "ruins" it - It looks a little misplaced though. What would have contrasted well would have been a nice green field in the background. This would have made your "pooch" stand out a little better. Only my opinion though.:D Lovely dog by the way.

Thanks PP, I agree that a green field would have been nice. Unfortunately we live in the desert and green anything is hard to find :) Is it difficult to photoshop one in once I have one?

Just a quick edit.

Thanks Kyuss. Did you just do a little brightening and some contrasting? I'm always afraid to do that. Does it reduce the quality of the print at all?

No it shouldn't reduce quality at all.

I make all my adjustments using Photoshop and then usually just save it in jpeg format using the highest save quality. It goes from 1-12, 12 being the highest quality jpeg file.

I adjusted the levels, brightness/contrast, made the reflections in his eyes a little brighter and burned in the white part of the wheel in the background. I also sharpened the photo.

Thanks PP, I agree that a green field would have been nice. Unfortunately we live in the desert and green anything is hard to find :) Is it difficult to photoshop one in once I have one?