Feedback requested

NC Labman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Took this picture recently and I like it, but it still is missing something. The focus is soft and I think the depth of field is too shallow. How would you have changed composition and/or camera settings? Equipment is Canon 40D with 28-135 lens. Hoping to invest in some new glass soon.

IMG_0440.jpg

Last edited:
f14? You've spotted the obvious issues, compositionally I don't see anything wrong with it. Maybe some more space to the right side of the frame but I like her offset placement. Is that a diffused flash firing from your upper left? If so, you probably could have tried to use a reflector to help smooth some of the shadows on the right side her face. Nice shot though, shame about the focus.

I will need to check the aperture, but F4 sounds correct. I'm still new to using an SLR and the biggest issue I keep facing is that when shooting my children there always seems to be such a brief window to get the shot that my finger fires faster than my brain can work and this is the result. I'm hoping time and experience will correct the issue.

There was no flash used in the photo.

Well good use of natural lighting! Your exif says you were at f14, not f4, but the depth of field does look more shallow than F14 would get you on most cases.

I don't think there's a lot wrong with it to be honest. I think the reason you might feel it's missing something is that you seem to have 2 competing subjects with the girl and the frog. I think my eye is pulled to the girl because she's cute and takes up more of the frame and then to the frog because he's more in focus.

I wonder if you cropped more of her out of the frame or blurred her heavier it'd draw more attention to the frog and isolate it as the subject.