Film users who moved to digital: 5D Mark II or 7D?

deepsun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The proverbial question--5D Mark II or 7D?

You've all come across it, but it seemed deserving of a thread since I'm moving from film to digital.

I've been using a mix of manual and semi-auto 35mm film cameras for nearly a decade. During this time, I've had extensive experience with all aspects darkroom work. As well, I've had the opportunity to briefly use several different kinds of DSLRs, but I've just now decided to make the leap for myself for purposes of cost and time. All that to say, I know my way around a camera, processing, enlarging and using DSLRs and Photoshop. With that in mind, should I spend the extra and go for a the 5D for its better features and full-frame sensor? It's hard for me to decide with the limited experience I have with both cameras.

Thanks!

Unless you are extensively shooting sports/wildlife or other action based photography then I would go for the 5DMII from those two options. The 5DMII has the same sized sensor as the 35mm film that you've been using for years now so the focal lengths of lens that you are used to will still give you the same angle of view.

Whilst the 5DMII's af isn't outstanding its still more than capable of being used in most situations to good effect; other features like noise are going to be better controlled on the 5DMII over the 7D.

The 7D has the bonus of a more rugged build quality and a better AF system, however unless you need those features its got little to offer over the 5DMII and it also has a cropped sensor; so you'd have to get used to a whole new way of looking at focal lengths.