first attempt at the 'Brenizer' method

jasonkip

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jasonkip.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first attempt at the 'Brenizer method'. The idea is to use a longer lens and wide-open aperture to get a nice bokeh effect, and then stitch together multiple images so that the end result is an image that looks like it was taken with a wider angle lens but still has that bokeh effect. This image is made up of 12 shots taken with an 85mm 1.8 lens on a 1.6 crop sensor.

nycbokehpanorama.jpg

So it's like a panorama but with one main subject and a lot of bokeh? It looks great.

That's it! The guy named Brenizer uses this technique in his wedding photography with people as the subject. He said it's like having a really huge sensor in your camera. I saw a couple examples he did that use about 25 images, and I'm pretty sure he's already working with a full frame sensor and lenses with even larger apertures. I found a few videos on youtube where he explains it in a little more detail, but that's the gist of it. I definitely had one of those "why didn't I think of that" moments when I saw it.

Last edited:
Interesting, might have to use google on this to get a better idea of just how it is stitched etc.

Would the photoshop panorama stitching work for this? i might try it.

I saw him do that on Adorama TV just the other day. Great capture!

Nicely done! Like your choice of subjects also! :)

Thank you everyone. I did use Photoshop (CS4) for the stitching which Brenizer talked about in an interview with B&H. File>automate>photomerge and the reposition layout. I too saw this first on Adorama TV, and he did mention different software that he uses for stitching but I forget the name of it now.

What is 'bokeh effect'?