First experience w/ film developing

rexbobcat

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Sucked.

I spent all day (literally 14 hours) researching and developing ONE sheet of film, because I have the superhuman ability to be disorganized and klutzy beyond what should be possible and I wanted to make this experience worthwhile.

I spent an hour light proofing my bathroom, and even then it was only about 97% light free.

I studied chemical dilution and development times and everything, because I had to use a Kodak chemical development flow instead of caffeinol. My roommate drank all the instant coffee.

I ruined the first two sheets trying to get them in the holder and into the camera.

I got the third one exposed, and then had to wait until night to develop it.

I set all the chemicals out and asked my roommate to time with his phone outside the "darkroom" (bathroom). I developed for 9 minutes.

I figured it probably wasn't going to be good by any means. I've never developed film before, but damn it I was going to make it as good as possible for a first try.

So I turned on the light after rinsing the film and

It's overdeveloped (underdeveloped?)
I think a bit foggy
Stained from the hard water here
Scratched (I knew it would be somewhat)
Unevenly developed.
I don't think I left it in the stop bath long enough because some parts kept developing.

I scanned it and it was so badly developed that's scanner didn't pick up a photo at all. There was a faint image there when the negative is held up to the light.

Behold the s**t stain I produced with my own two incapable hands.

$image-1397414680.jpg

And this is after I brought the brightness down and maxed out contrast. Yay.

Hah, nice.