First Portrait with New Home Studio - C&C please.

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just got my first umbrella (45" Photoflex combo shoot through/black back reflective) and set up my small home studio. This is my first time ever using the umbrella and I'd love some feedback. Please be as harsh as necessary. I want to learn. This was shot at ISO 400, f/16, 1/200, 90mm and I did a bit of PP in LR3. I lightened it a bit, cropped a bit, and did very little skin softening and sharpening.

I'm not thrilled about all of her skin quality. I think it needs to be sharper in places and I think I could use some selective burning, but to be honest I struggled a bit with this.

I also see some light sneaking in through the backdrop over her left shoulder and the back of her head. That needs to be corrected.

Thanks for looking.

EDIT: The umbrella was 45 degrees camera left and 45 degrees from her face, and was slightly higher than her head. I used a large piece of white corrugated plastic sitting on a chair camera right to reflect some light on the left side of her face for fill.

TaylorPortraitNo2Nov2011_.jpg

Trever, I like your small home studio. I have the "junior" version of your studio! (also paid for by the way. :lol:)

DSC_0912.jpg

Can I ask why ISO 400 and F16? Thats quite the DoF for a studio portrait. The light is really good for starting out. You can see the shadow right underneath her nose and I think I see the inverted triangle under her eye. At work on a crappy monitor. I would fix the WB, to me her skin seems a tad too pink again it could be crappy work monitor. I think you could just use a brush in LR to get rid of the light coming through the backdrop. I'm no lighting expert either. I am sure someone who is can chime in.

1. Since the background is a thin muslin either set it up in front of a wall or double it over to prevent light shining through.