First post and LOTS of C&C welcome

Jenneve

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new here! This is my first post, as I'm new to photography and since browsing your site for the last hour I've got TONS to learn, ohh I'm so excited!! Any tips or good books that can teach me that you would recommend I would love to know what they are. And please, do not hold back on critiquing, I'm here to learn! Thanks

Attachments

• $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    105.7 KB · Views: 112
  • $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    50.3 KB · Views: 118
  • $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 146
  • $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 121
I am very new myself, but the first one to me looked kinda dark.. your pics say OK to edit and I really liked that first one so I did a little editing to it. 2nd and 3rd the crop seems off to me.. and the 3rd is okay, but your first image was my favorite.
$image.jpg

The crops on the 2nd and 4th one are quite jarring to me. In number two, I wish you would have shot portrait orientation, getting rid of so much of that negative space to the left and keeping his ear, while also giving him more of a body. In the last one, maybe if you would have taken a step back or zoomed out, you could have gotten his other leg. Maybe even a few steps to your right and shot with a different perspective? I wasn't there, so it's hard to say. These are not a bad start at all! Way better than many beginner photos I've seen.

Hi Jenneve,

Welcome to TPF. We're almost neighbors, I'm just north of you in Missouri -- other side of the Mason Dixon. Where abouts in Arkansas are you?

Three of the four photos you posted are backlit without fill. The real bottom line is you don't want to do that for a lot of reasons. If you're going to have strong bright light behind your subject then you really need to balance that backlight with forward fill. Typically that means a flash.