First wedding! (Picture heavy)

BrickHouse

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I've made it very very clear that I am only a hobbyist, and a slow-learning, untalented one at that. I got my D3200 1.5yrs ago and shoot maybe 2-3x/month, and almost always my daughter. Somehow though, it got out at work that I like to take pictures and of course the inevitable happened. I was asked by a coworker to photograph his wedding. The first words out of my my were literally "dude, hell no". However, after further explanation, it turns out that this will be his legal wedding to get his wife military benefits and allow her to be on his next set of orders. Their formal full wedding will be next summer with a payed professional photographer. So this was family only, approx 20 people, the backyard of a beach house followed by dinner at a friend's and finishing with pictures at sunset.

Well, after much assurance that even snapshots would be fine and that their alternative is to have Great Aunt Sue take pics with her iPhone, I agreed. Of course, they wanted to have it in San Diego, in summer, at 3pm. Great light right? Then of course we all got to having too much fun and missed sunset at the beach so we have some photos in the near dark on the beach. Anyway, thought I'd share some of them as this was a milestone in my photography "career". These are not in order because I can't figure out how to manually order pictures in Flickr. I'd welcome any general thoughts or C&C, though I won't tell you I will ever do this again so your tips may go unpracticed.

1)

Scott and Ari Wedding-2-12 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

2)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0142 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

3)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0166 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

4)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0272 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

5)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0314 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

6)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0327 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

7)

Scott and Ari Wedding-0428 by Bolt x4, on Flickr

8)