Flash in churches

JDS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jdsnow.net
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've heard of it, but never known why. Why do some churches not allow flash photography? The one reason I ever got was only "For religious reasons." I'm religious - I mean, I go to church every time the doors are open. But I'm just curious what these religious reasons are for not allowing flashes?

God hates photographers? I don't know :scratch:

Actually, I think it's because a lot of people find flashes to be annoying or distracting. The way that many photographers shoot now, with digital, the officiant and the couple could get 'flashed' hundreds of times during the ceremony. If I were the Officiant and I had the power to tell them 'No Flash'...I might consider doing just that. As a photographer, I think it's ridiculous...but then, as a photographer I would design a church with fantastic lighting.

I'm on board with Mike - I did a wedding back in August where they requested no flash photography. The church was way old and the lighting really was poor. I find it crazy when a thousand flashes go off but then at the same I agree that all church lighting should be placed with no flash photography in mind! There was no religious reason for it that I know of. It's just a preference...

a very uncool preference for the photographer. :grumpy:

The thing that bothers me, is that the Officiant will tell you that you are not allowed to use flash (because you were professional enough to ask ahead of time). But then you are shooting the wedding and 36 guests are flashing away and nothing is said...what are you supposed to do in that situation?