Flash Newb question, Mixing flashes

kainu7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all, I am fairly new to using flashes and have recently purchased the Nikon SB-700. I now see I can buy some LumoPro LP160 or vivitar 285hv for a heck of a lot cheaper than a set of SB-700. Can I mix these up and use them all together? I would like to have 3-4 flashes so I can try the "strobist" thing from the strobist blog.

What exactly would I need? just some remote triggers?

Thank you for the help, i must be missing something... Just cant seem to wrap my head around it...

What camera do you have?

Yep... remote triggers is all you need. The 285s have a built in optical slave, BUT that relys on line of sight with another flash. Your best bet will be to pick up a set of radio triggers (Cactus triggers are generally well regarded as an entry-level unit) and you'll be off to the races. Ideally, one transmitter, and a receiver for each flash you have. Be aware though that once you put your SB700 on a remote trigger, you'll no longer be able to use any of it's TTL functionality. That's not a bad thing; for most flash work, manual flash is better.

My D7000 - I have pocketwizard triggers and use an SB600 and 2 vivitar 285's

Yep... remote triggers is all you need. The 285s have a built in optical slave, BUT that relys on line of sight with another flash. Your best bet will be to pick up a set of radio triggers (Cactus triggers are generally well regarded as an entry-level unit) and you'll be off to the races. Ideally, one transmitter, and a receiver for each flash you have. Be aware though that once you put your SB700 on a remote trigger, you'll no longer be able to use any of it's TTL functionality. That's not a bad thing; for most flash work, manual flash is better.

I have two 285HV's. Did I purchase the version without the optical slave, because I've never known the 285's to have an optical slave. The LP160 does, but not the 285HV.