focus area

Webjunkie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit

http://webjunkie1961.deviantart.com/gallery/#/d3ksca5
(could not get image to upload but the link goes to same image I am refering too )

I am brand new to photography in fact the linked picturewas from the first day I got a camera (Nikon D3000) using the 18-55 lens my question is... the focus area of this image is pretty small looks to be clearonly on tree near the closest mushroom is there a way to increase that focusarea. (not sure if I am using the correct terms as I am a novice.)

Last edited:
The term you're looking for is "depth of field", and you can get more of it by stopping down the aperture of the lens. You shot this at f/3.5, try going to 5.6 or 7.1 for a deeper in focus area. The tradeoff is that less light is collected so you'll need a slower shutter speed (and possibly a tripod, considering how slow it is already), or a higher ISO (which may introduce noise to the photo).

Thank you as an old timer I learn slow hope I can learn enough to start taking good shots. the day I took that shot linked above I took over 600 and all but a very few where deleted due to bur sun or me being stupid lol

Thank you as an old timer I learn slow hope I can learn enough to start taking good shots. the day I took that shot linked above I took over 600 and all but a very few where deleted due to bur sun or me being stupid lol

Letting go of unsatisfactory photos and deleting them in the field (aka chimping) is a lesson unto itself for many, so you are off to a good start. The most important things are to keep shooting and have fun with it. The rest sould come in its own time.

Letting go of unsatisfactory photos and deleting them in the field (aka chimping) is a lesson unto itself for many, so you are off to a good start. The most important things are to keep shooting and have fun with it. The rest sould come in its own time.