give me editing feedback please

Wendel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been playing with my camera and editing for about 9 months. I edit in gimp 2.8. What would you do with this photo to make it better. Here is what I did. Lighten and added little contrast in curves. added a layer in channel mixer, monochrome, soft light layer at 30% opacity (this seems to even out skin tones) dodged the eyes at 12 exposure, and unsharpened mask just the irises, and then unsharpen mask to the whole image, at 15.

Also, I shoot in RAW, and I just use my canon software to convert. I adjust the warmth of the image during that process.

Thanks all.

Attachments

• $IMG_6072aexported.jpg
    $IMG_6072aexported.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 192
A tad underexposed on my monitor.

I would agree it looks a bit underexposed, maybe a bit brighter. A little less warmth I think may make it pop a bit more. Great work on the eyes and a lovely shot!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Did you crop any or is this out of the camera? I am not sure that i like her leaving the frame and you cropped her head. Put your negative space on the other side

Maybe a little too warm. Her teeth look yellow.

Welcome to TPF.

A little dingy and flat -- histogram tells all -- see inset. I agree with Designer you've gone a little yellow.

Joe

$portrait.jpg

Welcome to TPF.

A little dingy and flat -- histogram tells all -- see inset. I agree with Designer you've gone a

Is histogram always right?

Welcome to TPF.

A little dingy and flat -- histogram tells all -- see inset. I agree with Designer you've gone a

The histogram is not always right! 9/10 I would say its "pretty spot on". Just like the built in light meter. I always use that as a 'guide' but never solely rely on it.

Welcome to TPF.