Good grip for 50D?

cfusionpm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a quick question because I'm thinking about getting a battery grip myself. I know it maybe a stupid question, but I just want more information because i'm new to the DSLR and more advanced equipment. What is the Vertical firing release that battery grips provide for the camera?

I maybe wording the question wrong. I should just ask, what is Vertical Firing Release? :cry:

It's a second shutter release so your right hand is in a more natural position on the side of the camera when the camera is held in the vertical position. Otherwise your right hand winds up on top of the camera, not as good a place for good steady camera control.

A good vertical grip also includes the command wheels for adjusting shutter speed and aperture, and controls for AE lock and AF lock.

To ensure the validity of your warranty you should use the camera makers grip.

It's a second shutter release so your right hand is in a more natural position on the side of the camera when the camera is held in the vertical position. Otherwise your right hand winds up on top of the camera, not as good a place for good steady camera control.

A good vertical grip also includes the command wheels for adjusting shutter speed and aperture, and controls for AE lock and AF lock.

To ensure the validity of your warranty you should use the camera makers grip.

Thanks!!!! I plan on getting Canon's battery grip for my 50d.

the one i got off adorama has the top wheel, shutter button, and the other two top buttons as well, and only cost 65$. no way was i going to spend upwards of 200$ for the canon. i'm usually all for canon brand products, but there really seemed to be no advantage to the canon grip other than the logo on the side.