weepete

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.petecrawford.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all :)I am looking for a bit of advice as at the moment I'm at a total loss!I was lucky enough to have a Canon MK1 10D given to me when my old man upgraded his camera a few years back. I've been using it since 2007, have taken thousands of photos and it's stood me in good stead but have been toying with the idea of getting a newer camera recently and a couple of lenses to boot, but have no idea what make or model I should be looking for as a modern replacement.....so I'd appreciate any advice you could give :)I'll not be looking to upgrade right now, I'm willing to wait and save for the right camera, so my budget is flexible, but probably has a max of £2500 if really pushed (absolute top end for me though, I'd rather spend a lot less!). Really what's most important to me is that I get a full manual capabilities as I do like to play about with settings and try to get the shot right through the lens! After a full manual I use Av and Tv modes the most. At the moment I take a lot of different shots and subjects under a wide variety of conditions but of particular interest to me is macro and low light photography, preferably hand held but I do own a tripod and not a flash! I'd also like to take some good portraits as well and the odd sports shot.I appreciate I'm asking for "the beginners bit of everything" here but I love the 10D and it's functionality, the bit's you can change and really I'm looking for a modern version with a bit better low light performance I recon!! I'd really apreciate any advice!!

A couple questions for you first: Are you wanting to stay with Canon? What lenses do you currently have? Would the £2500 budget be for everything or just the body?

Out of interest what kind of macro are you interested in - insects - waterdrops - flowers?