Got a shoot with a girl off Model Mayhem!

mrshaleyberg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
EDIT

I did the shoot yesterday. I came out and told the girl that I'm not that good at giving directions, although I tried. She did all the poses herself, and I just took pictures. I think the shoot went pretty well. C&C please!

Last edited:
im the same exact way man, but once you break out the camera it should flow. imagine what YOU would wanna see in a photo w her. If she has a great smile get a couple close ups of her cheesing. the posing i have trouble w too, but maybe you can look at a couple of magazines or other pics on MM and get an idea. Make sure they are in focus.
Good Luck

With lifestyle shots you don't have to worry too much with posing. It's mostly photo's of the person doing things. Kind of like candid shots. You will most likely have to give some direction, but you shouldn't have to tell her everything to do because then it wouldn't really be lifestyle photo's. Just go with it.

Lifestyle photography is like, if they're into ballet, you'll take shots of her with her tutu and slippers on... if she's a swimmer she'll want to do the shoot at a pool, etc.

It's your first model mayhem? I'd like to get on there but I really have nothing to submit for their 'new member test' thing..

Definitely look at as much material as you can before going in.
One thing I found that makes it a bit easier when "directing" a shoot is, talk with the model beforehand. Ask her, what she would like to see, discuss what her best attributes are and how they can come together in a photo.
Maybe she has some experience in posing and might have one or the other pose in mind. Let her try them out, see if they work and if not, advise on how they could be better.