Gourd Studio Setup

qleak

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
For xmas I've purchased some equipment for my mom, a gourd artist. I want to help her take better pictures for posting on her website. I'm also fairly new to photographic lighting.
Here is the equipment we have to work with:

2 x Clamp lights
2 x White foam boards
2 x Black foam boards
Lotsa Clamps
3 x Mic Stands (each with boom)
1 x Roll of white paper.
1 x Generic Flexpod camera holder.
1 x Coolpix L810

The sealing finisher she uses is very glossy. Here are a few shots I took with her adjusting the lights. We started with halogen floods but they were a little too hard even bounced off a card so we switched to CFL later. I have only scaled the images no other post processing. Throughout there are exposure compensation and white balance issues. I was trying to encourage her to slow down a bit.

1) Halogen lights 1 at 45degrees to the left front bounced off white foam board one in back right on the background apparently spilling onto the gourd too. These are faux-beads on the gourd.
DSCN2809.JPG

2) Gourd plate, 2 halogens bounced off foam board left and right respectively. I had not suggested adjusting the exposure compensation positively yet.
DSCN2807.JPG

3) Cowboy gourd I. 2 x CFL bounced off cards at slightly less than 45 degrees left and right front.
DSCN2833.JPG

4) Cowboy gourd II. 2 CFL one on background on right, the other front left bounced off white card.
DSCN2832.JPG

5) faux leather gourd. Front left CFL off card and 2nd on background.
DSCN2826.JPG

6) Polar Bear Gourd. Both cfl front left and right off card. This one needed negative exposure compensation.. maybe next time.
DSCN2812.JPG