Graveyard shoot

kparlin74

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an amateur who's been requested to do an album cover.
They want it done in a graveyard at night. Any suggestions, about getting access or other thoughts. I tried to email the superintendent, to no avail.

Find an old grave yard in a small town. They aren't usually gated or fenced. No permission needed...

Vince

and take a friend - those places can be really creepy at night. I'm adding graveyard shoot to my list of shoots I want to do.

Good luck!

Most Graveyard attendants in my area only request that you do not include clearly visable names on the headstones, that is if you talk to them nicely and explain your reasons for wanting to shoot there in the first place. Some attendants will want to chuck you out without wanting to engage in any conversation, but thats just the way it goes.

and take a friend - those places can be really creepy at night. I'm adding graveyard shoot to my list of shoots I want to do.

Good luck!

chances are the band will be there..

im guessing for the graveyard thing it depends on your area, like where i live theres two graveyards, one is the peoples one the other one is an old navy one, the navy one even if the gate is closed anyone could get in by jumping over...im with the person who said look for one in a small town

I'll have to agree with finding an older cemetery. They have an eerier look and feel to them. Also, if you're going to be shooting in black and white consider a red filter as that would allow you to shoot at dusk and still give the look and feel of night while leaving available light for details.

Do a little homework, an old church cemetery where there were at least one or two wealthy congregants who had vaults or monuments for their deceased. They are the atypical "old graveyard" look you may well be seeking.

If you're shooting film you may also want to consider infrared film.

Night shot? Day shot? Both have different lighting needs.