Guide for aperature settings, ISO settings, etc..??

brookie418

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am fairly new to photography and was wondering if anyone knows of where I can go to see a guide to aperature settings, ISO settings, and all of that, based on whether you are outside/inside, have a lot of light or not much light, etc...

Please don't be mean if this sounds like a stupid question!! I know I don't know much a/b cameras, I just LOVE photography and want to be the best I can possibly be at it! ;)

this is a lot to explain in a post....

pick up the semi outdated but much loved book Understand Exposure by Brian Peterson.... it's available at most local bookstores... he has a good way of explaining shutter/aperture/iso in relation to what you are trying to say in your image....

and btw fyi it's aperture...

there is also much you can learn on the internet... most of it is fragmented... if you get the book the additional stuff you learn off the internet starts to make more sense...

good luck!!!

It completely depends on how much light you have...and cameras have built-in light meters. So just look at what the camera is telling you, and use that as a guide.

As for what combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO to use...that's always a give and take relationship and it's up to you to decide what is most important for your shot. And when you must make a compromise (which is most of the time), you must decide what and how much.

well first of definatly get the book Recomeneded - Understanding Exposure - the newest editions also consider digital photography. Also I would recomend (for starting out) The Digital Photography Book by Scot Kelby - the amazon site has a video where he talks about the book:
[ame]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Digital-Photography-Book-Scott-Kelby/dp/032147404X/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1219260631&sr=8-3[/ame]