Hello, newbie here! Fuji Gs245s questions

meow7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I have delved into the medium format world and I'm playing around and need some insights. I did some research and bought a Fuji Gs245s, loaded up the film and I'm wandering around basically taking test shots, we'll see what happens when I develop them! Focusing through the rangefinder is not that easy and I have to wear my reading glasses, no diopter, ugh, so it seems my greatest challenge with this camera is focus. I did some experiments with zone focusing. Let's say that at f11 the range should be somewhere between 2m and 5m. The actual subject is 3m away, got out the tape measure and everything. However when I focus it anything but 3m is out of focus. OR is it not really out of focus but the focussing screen just tells me that and I should assume (never assume) that anything between 2 and 5 meters will be in focus.

So I guess I'm a Rangefinder newb as well!! The focus is accurate, I tested it at 1m, 2m and 3m. each were bang on.

Can you by stick on diopters?

Thanks
Adria

Very nice camera. I sympathize with you for the eye glass issue, I've suffered the same for decades. Stick on diopters? Super glue?

The focusing aid in a rangefinder is entirely mechanical (not optical) and will not respond to variations due to depth of field. It only shows you the plane of sharp focus.

You need to test your zone focus parameters to make sure you're happy with the results depending on your use. Only the plane of focus is completely sharp. The drop off in sharpness then away from that plane is progressive (forward and back) until it reaches a point where you perceive it as not sharp. When we use a zone focus scheme (rely on DOF) we're always working with the fudge factor that's built into the term "acceptably sharp."

Joe