Hello to the PhotoForum! Anyone know about strobe lighting?

DebSturm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a second year photography student, just getting ready to take a studio photography class in a few weeks. Got my (2) strobe light kit, a "hot-shoe" for my NikonD3100 and NikonD5100 although I had a hard time finding out just what these were and what they were for. My disappointment grows as I try and try to get answers about initial hook-up and synchronization of my cameras and strobe lights. Most sites I've been to are so advanced I'm treated like an idiot. I'm hoping that my stumbling on this site might prove beneficial. So, does anyone here have experience with strobe lighting, or can you guide me to an informational website I might look at? Thanks to everyone who reads and considers. Happy photographing! Deb Sturm:wink:

Hi, Deb. Yes, there are many on this site who have extensive experience with strobe lighting, although I'm not one of them.

It will help quite a bit to tell exactly what your strobe units are, and how you intend to use them.

Are you having trouble connecting strobes to your cameras?

I have a little cube-shaped widget that slips into the hotshoe. On one side of the cube is a little metal peg with a hole in it -- this is a PC cord socket. From this I run a PC cord to whatever I like. When the camera's shutter fires it indicates this fact on the PC socket, firing the strobe(s). Done and done!

There are radio-based solutions as well, which perform some equivalent task, but those are for modern people and I don't know how they connect to a D3100 or a D5100. Someone else does, and they will surely chime in soon, however!