Help! Funny outlines on my almost-first macro shot

Orchida

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I was practising with my new macro lens in the garden a couple of weeks ago and took this. Why are there funny blurred "outlines" to some of the buds, especially in bottom left hand corner?

P1171651sm.jpg

Hmm what settings did you take the shot on? If you used a slower shutter speed it could be that small movements lead to the double image formed (esp if you used a slower shutter speed and flash)

I am a beginner so I hope I'm giving suitable answers here! This was taken with 35mm macro lens, f3.5, 1/80 sec exp.

Hmm I'm going to go with it being too slow a shutter speed. The line as I see it is fairly well defined so I am edging away from it being a lens based error (though foreground blurred areas can do odd things). Whilst with a 35mm lens the shutter speed should be fast enough to counter handshake things get more noticable at macro distances and further wind (even light wind) can also affect the final shot.
Slower shutter speeds are possible with macro - though idealy you want a tripod and also a very still day with no wind to move the subject. This is why flash is often used for macro work since it helps to allow a fast shutter speed and the use of flash itself also freezes the motion in a shot. In addition apertures used for macro work tend to be smaller (that means bigger f numbers) so that the depth of field (area of the shot in focus) is increased. It's not uncomon to work between f8 and f13 with macro work (f16 is a good limit - if you go any smaller diffraction will start to take place and soften the shot).
This is not to say wide aperture macro is not done it certainly is - but its a very hard art to master because of the tiny depth of field.

Ps is that the tokina 35mm macro?