Help! My soon to be wife is uncomfortable with me shooting Nude art

BrettN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I have been shooting nude art photography for 8 years, my soon to be wife is uncomfortable with it. I am not a cheating ass and I shoot for fine art. Any ideas to get her to not be uncomfortable?

let me preface this,

So we have been together a year, we are getting married in 3 weeks, she was fully aware of my work, and I have invited her to shoots, tried to shoot her, so I am at a loss. I have shot male and female nudes. Its a big part of my fine art photography. I was shooting nudes while we were dating as well. At that time she told she likes that I see the beauty of the body and now she is uncomfortable with it. She does have self esteem and body issues. I don't shoot pro skinny models either, most of them are new models getting a portfolio together and are average.

Last edited:
Making her your sole model is the traditional approach.

It seems a bit late in the game to be having this conversation, though.

Wait. Is it your NEW wife, as your post states, or your SOON-to-be wife, as your thread title states?

I only ask because it just seems to me like, if you've been shooting nudes for eight years, this is a topic that would have been best brought up *before* she decided to marry you. Unless you didn't mention to her that you did it.

Anyway....I don't know that I can help you with ideas to put her at ease with it, other than maybe have her attend a few of the sessions so she knows exactly what you do?

But ultimately, if my spouse were not okay with it, and I couldn't find a way to get them to where they WERE okay with it, I'd find something else to shoot. On the other hand, I'm divorced, so what do I know? :lol:

EDIT: Took me too long to type my post, so others have already echoed this sentiment.

Talk With her, A LOT!

Later is not the time to work these things out.