help needed for shooting small music venue

tomso

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My friend is in a local band and has a show coming up at one of the venues downtown. Since they don't have any money (see: local band), they've asked me to take some photos while they play. Since I'm not a professional or even that good of a hobbyist, I'm not taking any money for the gig but I would like as many pointers as I can for shooting.

The situation as it stands: The bar is small, dark and the tiny stage only has a few overhead lights. I have a T3i and my lens collection can cover 8mm - 300mm but most are pretty much crap in low light (this is not my usual subject matter). I have a tripod and an old speedlite but I'm not sure they'll allow flash inside as it can get pretty annoying in small, dark bars.

Any help, hints and pointers would be greatly appreciated. I'd really like to do their band justice! I'll be happy to answer any more specific questions about my gear and the location (to the best of my abilities - I've never been to the bar).

Thanks!

Without flash and/or fast glass, your only options are to crank up the ISO or rent a camera/lens combo that has better low light performance.

Photos with a lot of image noise are better than images that are blurred beyond recognition. The challenge low light presents is in maintaining sufficient shutter speed to stop motion.

Thanks! If I can get away with flash, how should I angle it? I'm guessing direct hits would wash the band members out, not to mention blind them in the process.

How much noise can I get away with? I have Photoshop CS6 but as I usually shoot outdoors, I have never really had to do much post processing noise reduction.

You probably wouldn't need to use the flash at full power, but, you don't say if the speedlite you have is eTTL capable or not.