Help Needed - Please Advise

JoyfulNoisePhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all!

I am an aspiring photographer - not yet professional, but on my way - and I have a question on how to handle a situation.

My step-sister got married in August, and she hired a photographer to shoot the wedding. I asked if I could still take photos at the wedding for my own portfolio, and she ok'd that. My son was a ring bearer, so we went to the rehearsal & dinner the night before, and I brought my camera because I don't usually go anywhere without it. Her hired photographer was not there for the rehearsal & dinner. I shot photos throughout the night, and all day at the wedding the next day. I posted some sneak peeks on my Facebook page, and, with permission, blogged some of the better rehearsal and wedding photos. Shortly after the wedding, while I was still posting sneak peeks, the groom's mom messaged me asking if I could post a photo of her side of the family, which I did, with my watermark, so that she could use it as her profile/timeline photo. Now she has messaged me asking for photos of the rehearsal dinner (since the photographer that was hired to shoot the wedding was not at the rehearsal dinner), and is telling me I don't have to edit them.

I don't mind giving her a couple images, but I'm not in the business of giving away my photos - edited or unedited - and I sure don't want my unedited photos floating around the world wide web. I don't know how to tell her this without sounding rude or money hungry. She and I know each other fairly well, so it's not just a random client that I can give the generic business answer to. We have a bit of a relationship and I don't want to ruin that, but I can't just give away my profits. I decided before shooting the wedding that I would not be giving away any images without charge since I was doing the wedding purely for my benefit.