Help! Stuck at a crossroad.

Evergreen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first post here. I look forward to reading all these great posts.

I am an amateur photographer. Sure, I have been taking photos for years and have a good eye, but I have yet to make the leap to knowing tons of stuff. I like shooting in the outdoors (sporting events are my favorite).

Anyway, back in the old days I used a Minolta 400si w/tele-photo and around 2001 I upgraded to a Olympus E-20.

Fast forward to today. I am stuck between two roads.

Road One: Pick up the tele-photo lens I want for my E-20 (ebay around $325), plus a couple filters I want and commit to Olympus.

Road Two: Get a different camera that will grow with me. I don't like how the Olympus is stuck on lenses. I was looking at getting the Nikon D100, which is now affordably priced.

Can you help? I am trying to figure out if going to the D100 will be a good size increase in quality and ability. There are some 40 nikon lenses for it I believe and it is a 6.1 megapixel camera (E-20 is 5).

Also is the D70 better to get than the D100? It seems like it is a slight upgrade, but the body is not as good. This correct or?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

From a quick search, I see that the E-20 appears to be SLR-like...and not really what most would consider a true Digital SLR camera. Most notably the sensor is only 2/3 " (8.80 x 6.60 mm). Also, does your camera have a fixed lens? When you mention a telephoto for your camera, do you mean an adapter for the front of your lens?

If you check the sensor size on any of the true DSLR cameras, Nikon D70, D100 or Canon 20D, D350 etc. Those cameras have significantly bigger sensors, which gives better image quality and a lot less noise at higher ISO settings. With these cameras, you can remove and change the lens...which would allow you to use just about any of the great lenses made for their SLR cameras.